Resemble Reassemble
January 17, 2010
May 10, 2010

The Devi Art Foundation presents ResembleReassemble curated by Rashid Rana from January 17 to May 10, 2010, which brings together the works of forty-five Pakistani contemporary artists from the Lekha and Anupam Poddar Collection.

At present, the term ‘Contemporary Art in Pakistan’ covers an extremely broad and diverse spectrum. In the early years of independent Pakistan, colonial influences fused with the inevitable post-colonial quest for regional identity to produce a very distinct traditionalism. However, the last several years have seen the emergence of yet another kind of art, which is in touch with international artistic currents, less focused on parochial issues of genre and identity and more geared towards the understanding and mindsets of today’s more globalised audiences.

Artists from two very distant places today can arrive at similar visual solutions or styles but from very different trajectories; the content lies beneath the surface of the work. If we fail to address this international culture and look only to ‘difference’ and ‘identities’, we ignore much of what makes our age unique. The exhibition explores how the artworks can also be viewed outside the context of particular identities and how the resemblances in the works when juxtaposed and reassembled, produce meanings which are universally true in ‘visual thinking’.

This exhibition includes works by Abdullah M.I. Syed, Adeela Suleman, Ahsan Jamal, Aisha Khalid, Ali Raza, Amber Hammad, Anwar Saeed, Asma Mundrawala, Attiya Shaukat, Ayaz Jokhio, Ayesha Zulfiqar, Bani Abidi, Ehsan ul Haq, Fahd Burki, Farida Batool, Ferwa Ibrahim, Hamra Abbas, Huma Mulji, Huria Khan, Imran Ahmad Khan, Imran Mudassar, Imran Qureshi, Iqra Tanveer, Ismet Khawaja, Jamil Baloch, Mariam Ibraaz, Masooma Syed, Mahbub Shah, Mehr Javed, Mehreen Murtaza, Mahreen Asif Zuberi, Mohammad Ali Talpur, Muhammad Zeeshan, Naiza H Khan, Nazia Malik, Noor Ali Chagani, Nusra Latif Qureshi, Rabbya Nasser, Raju G.C., Risham Syed, Roohi Ahmed, Saira Wasim, Sajjad Ahmed, Shalalae Jamil, and Unum Babar.